2021 Edward R. Murrow National Award for Investigative Reporting for a small digital newsroom

2021 Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award for New Media

2010 John B. Oakes Award for Environmental Journalism, 
certificate of merit for coverage of the burn pits in Iraq and 

2010 Disabled American Veterans Bugle Award for coverage of 
the burn pits in Iraq and Afghanistan, and for They Fought for 
Each Other

2008-2009 Rossalyn Carter Fellow for mental health journalism

2008 Dart Center Ochberg Fellow

2008 finalist for the Michael Kelly Award, “recognizing the fearless 
pursuit and expression of truth.”

2008 first place for overseas coverage for large 
newspapers/magazines, from Military Reporters and Editors

2007 Army Times Publishing Company’s Outstanding Achievement 
— editorial

1999 First-place Deadline Reporting, Utah Idaho-Spokane 
Associated Press Association

Denver Press Club’s 1996 Damon Runyon scholarship for creative 

Selected for the Poynter Institute’s “Leadership and Ethics for 
College Editors”
seminar in August 1996

CSU’s Outstanding Graduate, news/editorial sequence

1996 First Place Feature Writing, Rocky Mountain Collegiate 
Media Association

Selected for CSU’s President’s Leadership Course, which included 
seminars on intercultural communication, understanding diversity, 
management styles and problem-solving

The Collegian received the 1996 Pacemaker Award, which placed 
the paper as one of the top-five university dailies in the nation in a 
competition judged by The Washington Post. In spring 1997, the 
paper also received a gold crown from the Columbia Scholastic 
Press Association, which placed the paper in the top 10 percent in 
the nation

Elected president of CSU Society of Professional Journalists 
chapter in 1995 and 1996